Missouri Constitution Section

Article III
Section 5
November 14, 2016

Senators--number--senatorial districts.

Section 5. The senate shall consist of thirty-four members elected by the qualified voters of the respective districts for four years. For the election of senators, the state shall be divided into convenient districts of contiguous territory, as compact and nearly equal in population as may be.

Source: Const. of 1875, Art. IV, §§ 5, 9.

(Amended January 14, 1966)


bottom Missouri General Assembly

Copyright © Missouri Legislature, all rights reserved.