Missouri Revised Statutes

Chapter 650
Department of Public Safety

August 28, 2016
redbar
911 training and standards act.

650.340. 1. The provisions of this section may be cited and shall be known as the "911 Training and Standards Act".

2. Initial training requirements for telecommunicators who answer 911 calls that come to public safety answering points shall be as follows:

(1) Police telecommunicator, 16 hours;

(2) Fire telecommunicator, 16 hours;

(3) Emergency medical services

telecommunicator, 16 hours;

(4) Joint communication center

telecommunicator, 40 hours.

3. All persons employed as a telecommunicator in this state shall be required to complete ongoing training so long as such person engages in the occupation as a telecommunicator. Such persons shall complete at least twenty-four hours of ongoing training every three years by such persons or organizations as provided in subsection 6 of this section. The reporting period for the ongoing training under this subsection shall run concurrent with the existing continuing education reporting periods for Missouri peace officers pursuant to chapter 590.

4. Any person employed as a telecommunicator on August 28, 1999, shall not be required to complete the training requirement as provided in subsection 2 of this section. Any person hired as a telecommunicator after August 28, 1999, shall complete the training requirements as provided in subsection 2 of this section within twelve months of the date such person is employed as a telecommunicator.

5. The training requirements as provided in subsection 2 of this section shall be waived for any person who furnishes proof to the committee that such person has completed training in another state which are at least as stringent as the training requirements of subsection 2 of this section.

6. The department of public safety shall determine by administrative rule the persons or organizations authorized to conduct the training as required by subsection 2 of this section.

7. This section shall not apply to an emergency medical dispatcher or agency as defined in section 190.100, or a person trained by an entity accredited or certified under section 190.131, or a person who provides prearrival medical instructions who works for an agency which meets the requirements set forth in section 190.134.

(L. 1999 S.B. 436, A.L. 2007 S.B. 22)




1999

650.340. 1. The provisions of this section may be cited and shall be known as the "911 Training and Standards Act".

2. Initial training requirements for telecommunicators who answer 911 calls that come to public safety answering points shall be as follows:

(1) Police telecommunicator. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 hours;

(2) Fire telecommunicator. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 hours;

(3) Emergency medical services telecommunicator . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 hours;

(4) Joint communication center telecommunicator . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40 hours.

3. All persons employed as a telecommunicator in this state shall be required to complete ongoing training so long as such person engages in the occupation as a telecommunicator. Such persons shall complete at least sixteen hours of ongoing training every two years by such persons or organizations as provided in subsection 6 of this section.

4. Any person employed as a telecommunicator on August 28, 1999, shall not be required to complete the training requirement as provided in subsection 2 of this section. Any person hired as a telecommunicator after August 28, 1999, shall complete the training requirements as provided in subsection 2 of this section within twelve months of the date such person is employed as a telecommunicator.

5. The training requirements as provided in subsection 2 of this section shall be waived for any person who furnishes proof to the committee that such person has completed training in another state which are at least as stringent as the training requirements of subsection 2 of this section.

6. The department of public safety shall determine by administrative rule the persons or organizations authorized to conduct the training as required by subsection 2 of this section.

7. This section shall not apply to an emergency medical dispatcher or agency as defined in section 190.100, RSMo, or a person trained by an entity accredited or certified under section 190.131, RSMo, or a person who provides prearrival medical instructions who works for an agency which meets the requirements set forth in section 190.134, RSMo.



Top
bottom Missouri General Assembly

Copyright © Missouri Legislature, all rights reserved.