Missouri Revised Statutes

Chapter 194
Death--Disposition of Dead Bodies
Section 194.409

August 28, 2014

Unmarked human burial consultation committee, established--seven members, qualifications--state historic preservation officer, chairman--meetings, when--members serve without remuneration--expenses--federal law.

194.409. 1. There is hereby created in the department of natural resources, an "Unmarked Human Burial Consultation Committee", which shall be composed of seven members to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. The members of the committee shall be appointed as follows: the state historic preservation officer, two members who are archaeologists or skeletal analysts, two native Americans who are members of an Indian tribe recognized by the United States of America, one member who is a non-Indian minority, and one non-Indian, non-minority member who is neither a professional archaeologist nor a skeletal analyst. Members of the committee shall be residents of the state of Missouri.

2. The state historic preservation officer shall be chairman of the committee and shall serve a term which is contemporaneous with his employment as director of the department of natural resources. The terms of all other members of the committee shall be three years.

3. The committee shall meet at least once each calendar year, but may meet more often at the request of the state historic preservation officer.

4. The members of the committee shall serve voluntarily and shall not receive compensation for membership on the committee, except that they shall be eligible to receive reimbursement for transportation expenses as provided for through the budget approved for the office of the state historic preservation officer.

5. All actions and decisions of the state historic preservation officer and the unmarked human burial consultation committee shall be in conformity with the provisions of the federal National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended.

(L. 1987 S.B. 24 ยง 6)

© Copyright

bottom Missouri General Assembly